Local News at Your Fingertips

Australia Day Awards 2014

S Lowe 5THE FM newsonline wattlerangnow

Mayor Peter Gandolfi today announced the recipients of the 2014 Wattle Range Australia Day Awards.

Mr Gandolfi said the awards acknowledge the contribution and service provided to the community by individuals and groups.

Recipients of the 2014 Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards are Bill Cull of Millicent, Elaine Donaldson of Beachport, John Zwar of Coonawarra and Peter DeKoning of Kalangadoo.

Kathleen Woods of Millicent, Ella Kidman and Bradley Merrett of Penola and Rachel Smith of Clay Wells will receive the Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year Award for their outstanding leadership skills and endeavours in youth activities.

Australia Day Community Event of the Year Awards will be awarded to the 2013 Beachport Duck Race and National Trust Leake Brothers Glencoe Woolshed – 150th Celebration events.

“These recipients have played an important role in our community,” Mr Gandolfi said. “They are to be congratulated and thanked for their volunteer service in Wattle Range as they have worked towards building a more vibrant and caring community.”

The Awards will be officially presented at 9.00am at Australia Day breakfast functions which commence at 8.00am on Sunday, January 26, 2014 at the following venues:

MILLICENT – Jubilee Park, North Terrace, Millicent.

PENOLA – War Memorial Park, Church Street, Penola.

BEACHPORT – Lagoon Reserve, Sommerville Street, Beachport.

KALANGADOO – Kalangadoo Institute, Eliza Street, Kalangadoo.

“This year I will be attending the Riddoch Ward presentations at Penola, whilst the other awards will be presented by Deputy Mayor Dycer at Kalangadoo, Cr Dunnicliff at Millicent, and Cr Treloar at Beachport. I urge all residents in the Wattle Range Council region to actively participate in celebrating Australia Day on January 26, 2014”.

Source: – Wattle Range Council

Comments are closed.