Local News at Your Fingertips

Millicent Bowling Club’s Week Wrap-up

Millicent Bowling Club logo

New Year Aggregate

The final day of the Millicent Bowling Club ‘New Year Aggregate’ set down for Wednesday 1st January 2014 had to be cancelled because of rain!

The ‘Tournament Director’ decided to declare the winners based on the first two days of play.

The first three places went to:
1st prize Derk Pietersma ($50.00)
2nd prize Dick Vanderheul (Stock & Saddlery voucher)
3rd prize Arnold Damhuis (Alternate Life voucher)


Hotondo Homes 2-4-2

2014’s Thursday 2-4-2 Competition got off to a great start with the Hotondo Homes 2-4-2 contested by a record 46 bowlers. This included a regular pair from Kalangadoo (Peter Rice & Phil Dowdell) & an ex member (now bowling for Willunga) Joe Fortanier.

The weather started out almost ideal for bowls, however it did blow-up & cool-down toward the end of play.

The 46 bowlers were paired up (2 teams of triples) for play on the Scott’s Petroleum & Somerset Hotel Greens with some very good scores recorded. Of these the winning teams included John Madden & Bill Davis (29+1), Malcolm McRobert & Phil Ryan (30+2), Cliff Elton & Brian Atkinson (31+7), Dick Vanderhuel, Peter Hyland & David Crase (32+6), Terry Chant & Iain Campbell (32+6), Chris Earl & Ashley Madden (32+7), Brian Goode & Herb Henderson (33+12) & Wayne Burris & Malcolm Wright (33+14).

Alan Correll & Derk Pietersma (33+15) finished in third spot with Joe Fortanier & Steve Carnellor (33+19) in second place.

The winners for the day were Jim Campbell & John Scudds completing the 20 ends with a more than admirable 34+19.

2014 Men’s Championship Triples

The Millicent Bowling Club’s 2014 Men’s Championship Triples was played on Saturday 4th January 2014.

After a lot of close games it came down to the final that was contested between the teams of Keith Bennett (skip), Ian Ross & Neil Whelan & Iain Campbell (skip), Rod Gibbs & John Buhlmann.

And what a final it was! The lead to & froed until a draw on the 9th end. The team Skippered by Iain Campbell then pulled clear to finish the Championship 15 to 8 after 17 ends.

This marks the fourth year in succession that Iain, Rod &John have been the Millicent Bowling Club’s Triples Champions (having won in 2011, 2012 & 2013). A record that is sure to stand for some time to come.

Congratulations to everyone who took part in these championships.

Comments are closed.