Local News at Your Fingertips

Millicent Bowls Weekly News

Millicent Bowling Club logo


Compiled by Colin Pye for 5THEFM WattleRangeNow sportonline

The Millicent Cosmopolitan 4s Skins

Day 2 of the Millicent Bowling Club’s January Bowls Carnival, Monday 27th, saw the ‘Cosmopolitan 4s Skins’ played out.

72 bowlers, making 18 teams, took part in an interesting concept of bowls.

These bowlers represented Millicent, Mt Gambier, Mt Gambier RSL, Portland, Port MacDonnell, Kalangadoo, Naracoorte & Adelaide.

Denton SportsPower’s owners, Chris & Donna Denton, displayed a selection of the bowling attire & equipment they stock to alert locals that they can purchase anything they require right here in Millicent.

The Cosmopolitan was decided between the top 4 teams after accumulated points over 3 12 end games was tallied. The top 2 teams played the major final, competing for $100 per end over 10 ends, & the third & fourth teams played the minor final. They competed for $50 per end over 10 ends.

To claim the prize money a team must win the end by 2 shots otherwise the money jackpots to the next end, etc: The final end (end 10) is the exception were 1 shot is all that is required to win the end.

The final results were –

Major Final was won by the team of John Scudds (skip), Bryan Vorwerk, Ian Ross & John Buhlmann taking away $600. Runners up with $400 was the team of Andrew McGorman (skip), Brad Errock, Kristy Davis & Peter Gregory.

Minor Final went to the team of Marcus Pietersma (skip), Eddie Otter, Peter Reppin & Adam Wilson scooping the pool of $500 & the team of Graham East (skip), Jo Sykes, Ken Smith & Jeff East were the runners up.

Unfortunately, due to the high temperature, Day 3 (Tuesday 28th January) had to be cancelled.


Landmark 2-4-2

A respite from the heat has allowed us to have a couple of days of bowls.

Thursday 30th January saw the Landmark 2-4-2 competition contested on the Hahn & Somerset Greens by 8 teams of pairs & 2 teams of triples (38 bowlers).

The winning team was Colin Pye & John Madden scoring 35+9.

Runners up were Ed Fitter, Jim Campbell & Ian Ross with 33+6.

Other winning combinations were Alan Correll & Neil Whelan (32+12), Alan Strother & John Buhlmann (31+12), Ron Trewin & Herb Henderson (31+10), Derek Bowering & Wayne Burris (31+5), Brian Goode & Lindsay Warneke (31+3) & Glenn Schapel & David Botting (30+3).

There was 1 drawn game between the teams of Paul McRobert & Jeff Hollingsworth & Max Richards & Rob Chambers. Both teams finished with 10 ends each & 21 points each.

The Millicent Quality Meat’s meat tray raffle went to Glenn Schapel, again!


2014 Men’s Championship Pairs

On Saturday 25th January 50 members started out to take the title of ‘2014 Men’s Pairs Champions’. This number was reduced to 4 teams by the end of the day.

The Preliminary Finals were contested on Thursday 30th January between the teams of Phil Ryan & Malcolm McRobert v. Rod Gibbs & Iain Campbell on one rink & Bob Baxter & Rob Chambers v. Terry Barnes & Derek Bowering on the other.

The winners of these Preliminary Finals, Rod Gibbs & Iain Campbell & Terry Barnes & Derek Bowering, went on to play the Grand Final on Friday 31st January.

Last year’s Champions, Rod Gibbs & Iain Campbell, proved too strong on the day & went on to take the title.

Comments are closed.