Local News at Your Fingertips

Millicent Bowling Club Weekly Wrap-up

Compiled by Colin Pye for 5THEFMWattleRangeNowsportonline

Millicent Bowling Club logo

Grand Finalists

Millicent Bowling Club Inc. were proud to have 4 teams make the Grand Finals of the LSEBA 2013-2014 Season.

Ladies’ Friday Pennant

Millicent Red Division 2 were defeated by Port MacDonnell on Friday 15th March 50 shots to 47

Dawn Bellman (skip), Ella Pietersma, Carol Gibbs, Faye Hill
Liz Vanderhorst (skip), Mary Clifford, Barbara Schuller, Mary Campbell
Reserve: Joan Greenwood

Congratulations to Division 2 on making to the Grand Final

Ladies Saturday Pennant

Millicent were defeated by Mt Gambier at Naracoorte on Saturday 16th March 65 shots to 33

Mary Clifford (skip), Ros Varcoe, Carol Gibbs, Lorraine Madden
Liz Carnellor (skip), Lyn Scudds, Leanne Carleton, Adriana Ross

Congratulations to Millicent on making to the Grand Final

Men’s Division 2 Pennant

Millicent 62 shots defeated Mt Gambier R.S.L. 61 shots at Naracoorte on Saturday 16th March

Derk Pietersma (skip), John Buhlmann, Lindsay Warneke, Brian Atkinson
Marino Gandolfi (skip), Glen Schapel, John Madden, Dennis Schultz
Herb Henderson (skip) Bill Burdon, Alan Correll, Peter Varcoe

Congratulations to everyone who helped achieve this Pennant

Mixed Gender Pennant

Port MacDonnell defeated Millicent Red at Mt Gambier 49 shots to 46 on Wednesday 19th March

John Scudds (skip), David Botting, Mary Clifford, Carlene Godden
Iain Campbell (skip), Ian Ross, Mary Campbell, Adriana Ross

Congratulations to Millicent Red on reaching the Grand Final

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kimberley Clark 2-4-2

Before play took place on Thursday 6th March Tournament Director Malcolm Wright congratulated the Millicent Bowling Club’s second division team on their winning the LSEBA Pennant on Saturday 15th March & all the teams that made the Final Series for the 2013-14 Season.

There were 32 bowlers who took part in the on the Scott’s & Somerset Greens in the Scott’s Petroleum 2-4-2 competition.

The team of Bill Cattanach & Clive Stevens recorded a draw against Alan Strother & Rod Gibbs. They finished on 10 ends & 21 shots each.

Next came Brentley Thomas & Ian Ross finishing with a score of 29+4, John Drew & Bill Burdon on 31+2, Malcolm McRobert & Peter Varcoe 31+5, Arnold Damhuis & John Madden finished with 31+7 &, in third place, Jim Campbell & Phil Ryan ended their tussle with 32+9.

Winning was the pair of Alan Correll & David Crase. Their finishing score of 34+19 was just enough to nudge Peter Hyland & Paul Ryan into second place with 33+11.

A Special Men’s Meeting will be held after play on Thursday 27th March to elect four (4) Men’s Selectors for next season. Please give some thought to nominations for these very important roles.

The Chris’s Barber Shop haircut went to the lucky Peter Hyland.

Comments are closed.