Local News at Your Fingertips

Pasin welcomes local mayors to Canberra

Barker Mayors 1706a


17 June 2014

FEDERAL Member for Barker Tony Pasin has welcomed mayors from around his electorate to Canberra this week.

The local government leaders, who are in Canberra this week for the Australian Local Government Association’s National General Assembly, joined Mr Pasin for dinner on Monday night before further meetings today. This included time with The Hon Jamie Briggs MP, Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, discussing local roads funding.

The group of mayors visiting from Barker includes Allan Arbon (Murray Bridge), Dave Burgess (Mid Murray), Evan Flint (Kingston SE), Peter Hunt (Berri Barmera), Neil Martinson (Renmark Paringa), Robert Sexton (Southern Mallee), Roger Strother (Coorong), Erika Vickery (Naracoorte Lucindale) and Richard Vickery (Tatiara).

Mr Pasin said it was a pleasure to welcome mayors from throughout Barker to Canberra.

“I spent many years as an elected member in local government and continue to have tremendous respect for the vital work carried out by local councils, particularly in the provision of vital services in regional areas throughout Barker,” Mr Pasin said.

“As I’ve said previously, an integral part of our democracy is ensuring different levels of government are able to work together to achieve positive outcomes for local communities. As Councils in Barker have found, I am keen to work with local government to ensure important projects secure support.”

“This week presents a significant opportunity for me to assist Councils throughout Barker to enter into dialogue with the Federal Government regarding important local projects.”

Barker mayors 1706.jpg: Tony Pasin MP (third from right) welcomes mayors from throughout Barker to Parliament House in Canberra. Clockwise from left: Evan Flint (Kingston SE), Robert Sexton (Southern Mallee), Dave Burgess (Mid Murray), Richard Vickery (Tatiara), Roger Strother (Coorong), Erika Vickery (Naracoorte Lucindale), Peter Hunt (Berri Barmera), Allan Arbon (Murray Bridge) and Neil Martinson (Renmark Paringa).

Source:- Office of the Federal Member for Barker Tony Pasin

Comments are closed.