Local News at Your Fingertips

National Day of Mourning for MH17 Victims

Condolence MH17 Gary GrayTony Pasin Member for Barker signing the Condolance Book in Canberra today Thursday 31st July

Source : Tony Pasin Member for Barker

THE Federal Government has declared Thursday 7 August 2014 to be a National Day of Mourning to honour the victims of Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17.

On this day, flags on all Government buildings, here and overseas, will be flown at half-mast.

The Government has arranged for a National Memorial Service to take place at St Patrick’s Cathedral, Melbourne, at 10.30am on Thursday 7 August 2014. The Service will honour those who have lost their lives and seek to support those who have been bereaved.

The National Memorial Service is interdenominational and members of the public are invited to attend.

Arrangements have also been made for the outside broadcast of the National Memorial Service in anticipation of large crowds wanting to support the families of those lost on Flight MH17.

Federal Member for Barker Tony Pasin said that the entire nation was united in grief and in a shared determination to ensure that justice is done.

“All Australians mourn the loss of Flight MH17. There were 298 innocent people on this aircraft and their deaths offend our sense of justice. We grieve for all, but particularly for the 38 men, women and children who called Australia home,” Mr Pasin said.

Mr Pasin made time today in Canberra to formally record his condolences for the victims of Flight MH17.

“On behalf of the people of Barker, I was honoured today to sign the Commonwealth of Australia Condolence Book in Parliament House, in support and sympathy of those tragically killed on Flight MH17,” Mr Pasin said.

“I was pleased to offer my condolences in this lasting and meaningful way alongside my Labor colleague Gary Gray, the Member for Brand in Western Australia. All Federal MPs and Senators, regardless of party allegiances, are united in grief with regard to this tragedy.”

Members of the public may also wish to sign the online Condolence Book can do so by visiting http://www.pm.gov.au

Comments are closed.