Local News at Your Fingertips

The Opening Day of the 2014-15 Bowling Season

On Sunday 7th September President Derk Pietersma introduced our 3 new members (Frank Weber, Dianne Stephens and Max Robbins) to the gathered members then had a few words of welcome and a gift presentation for Mayor Peter Gandolfi and Mayoress Kathy Gandolfi before the Mayor officially opened the Millicent Bowling Club’s 2014-15 bowling season.
The opening ceremony, which included a balloon launch, was followed by the 2014 Ladies’ Champion, Judy Saint, rolling the first kitty of the seaon and Men’s 2014 Champion, Steve Carnellor, sending down the seasons’ first bowl as a prelude to the afternoon’s play.
68 bowlers took to the greens in 4 triples teams and 14 fours teams for a social game of 14 ends.
Winning the day with 30+14 were Bill Fennell, Maureen Fitter, Dianne Stephens and Bob Baxter with second place going to Barry Stoddart, Denis Clifford, Harold Briggs (our visitor from Ararat) and Esther Scudds who scoed 29+7. Sharing a score of 28+10 and placing third on percentages were Dick Vanderhuel, Joan Ellis, Rod Harkness and Peter Varcoe (67.85%) with forth place going to Maureen Elton, Brian Atkinson, Mary Clifford and Terry Barnes (66.66%). Dick Vanderhuel, Joan Ellis, Rod Harkness and Peter Varcoe also had an 8 on the 12th end.
Other winning combinations were Brian Johnson, Mary Campbell and Doug Chilton (28+8), Dawn Atkinson, Ray Thiele, Judy saint and Herb Henderson (28+4), Alby Cecotti, Ella Pietersma and Neil Whelan (28+1), Malcolm Wright, Ros Varcoe, Ray Doecke and Lindsay Warneke (28+1) and Dorothy Harkness, Alan Strother, Wayne Burris and Marino Gandolfi (27+1).
The presentations were followed by afternoon tea and a lot of catching up with those who have been holidaying through the winter months.
Good bowling everyone.

Comments are closed.