Local News at Your Fingertips

The Opening Day of the 2014-15 Bowling Season

On Sunday 7th September President Derk Pietersma introduced our 3 new members (Frank Weber, Dianne Stephens and Max Robbins) to the gathered members then had a few words of welcome and a gift presentation for Mayor Peter Gandolfi and Mayoress Kathy Gandolfi before the Mayor officially opened the Millicent Bowling Club’s 2014-15 bowling season.
The opening ceremony, which included a balloon launch, was followed by the 2014 Ladies’ Champion, Judy Saint, rolling the first kitty of the seaon and Men’s 2014 Champion, Steve Carnellor, sending down the seasons’ first bowl as a prelude to the afternoon’s play.
68 bowlers took to the greens in 4 triples teams and 14 fours teams for a social game of 14 ends.
Winning the day with 30+14 were Bill Fennell, Maureen Fitter, Dianne Stephens and Bob Baxter with second place going to Barry Stoddart, Denis Clifford, Harold Briggs (our visitor from Ararat) and Esther Scudds who scoed 29+7. Sharing a score of 28+10 and placing third on percentages were Dick Vanderhuel, Joan Ellis, Rod Harkness and Peter Varcoe (67.85%) with forth place going to Maureen Elton, Brian Atkinson, Mary Clifford and Terry Barnes (66.66%). Dick Vanderhuel, Joan Ellis, Rod Harkness and Peter Varcoe also had an 8 on the 12th end.
Other winning combinations were Brian Johnson, Mary Campbell and Doug Chilton (28+8), Dawn Atkinson, Ray Thiele, Judy saint and Herb Henderson (28+4), Alby Cecotti, Ella Pietersma and Neil Whelan (28+1), Malcolm Wright, Ros Varcoe, Ray Doecke and Lindsay Warneke (28+1) and Dorothy Harkness, Alan Strother, Wayne Burris and Marino Gandolfi (27+1).
The presentations were followed by afternoon tea and a lot of catching up with those who have been holidaying through the winter months.
Good bowling everyone.

Kimberly-Clark Australia Cosmopolitan Fours

Millicent Bowling Club logo

The Kimberly-Clark Australia Cosmopolitan Fours Day was held on Sunday 27th April 2014 under blue skies & a light breeze at the Millicent Bowling Club.

This annual event saw bowlers travel from Mt Gambier, Naracoorte, Kalangadoo & Port MacDonnell to take part in this open gender format that is proving very popular.

Tournament Director Malcolm Wright & Vice President Steve Carnellor welcomed everyone to the greens & thanked Scott Whicker for the support the local bowling community has received from Kimberly-Clark over the years.

Play was held over 3 games of 12 ends with accumulative scores deciding the winners, & the winners were Bill Burdon, Wayne Burris, Rosalie Burdon & Lindsay Warneke with Mt Gambier’s Mick Spong, Frank Lindner, Leanne Henschke & Geoff Pollins taking second place honours. Third place went to the team of Maureen & Ed Fitter, Terry Barnes & Rob Chambers.

Presentations were announced by Malcolm Wright & given by Scott Whicker.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

MBC Honours Shirley Buhlmann

Millicent Bowling Club logo

On Sunday 27th April 2014 the Millicent Bowling Club installed one of its own to the status of Life Member.

For her dedication to the betterment of bowls, Shirley Buhlmann was nominated for a Life Membership of the Millicent Bowling Club. It is the considered opinion of the membership that this honour is overdue, and was approved at the AGM in April.

Shirley became a member of the MBC in 1976 and for the past 38 years Shirley has made a remarkable contribution to the development of the club we see today.

Shirley is well known for her fair- mindedness and wide knowledge of the game, from Millicent Bowling Club to the National level.

Her most notable personal achievements include 23 Championships, 3 Champion of Champions and 2 Round Robin awards.

She served on the Ladies’ Committee for 13years, holding the position as President for 3 years. During her time on the committee she was very involved in all aspects of fund raising, catering and social activities, as sponsorship for the improvement of the MBC also interested Shirley.

Her sponsorship includes:

  • Ladies’ Championship Pairs…..6year’s sponsorship.
  • October long weekend tournament…..3 years sponsorship
  • And currently joint sponsorship of the Ladies’ Plate.

In the 1980s Shirley was encouraged to widen her field of participation by moving into thecoaching. In 1987 she commenced this involvement, moving up to becoming coach co-ordinator by 2005.

Her involvement in coaching was widespread. This included national, state and regional executive positions. She has recently retired as Millicent’s coach after 27 years of service.

Shirley took a special interest in fostering the love of the game within the local schools and always welcomed new members to the club.

At a national level, Shirley has held the position of umpire for 30 years.

Shirley was heavily involved in the establishment of the present day Ladies’ Pennant Competition. She was the foundation President (1987) and remained in that position for 8 years, serving also as a regional recorder, and locally as a selector for 4 years.

Shirley was the foundation President of the “Ladies’ Past President’s Association” and also served as a secretary to the winter card committee.

Executive positions which Shirley has held:

  • S.A.W.B.A. Country councillor Division 1
  • S.A.W.B.A. Executive Member Division 1
  • S.A.W.B.A. Umpires Panel
  • S.A.W.B.A. Coaches Panel
  • S.A.W.B.A. House Committee
  • A.W.B.C. Level 1 Coach
  • A.W.B.C. Level 2 Coach
  • A.W.B.C. National Umpire
  • S.E.W.B.A. Interclub Pennant Organising Officer
  • S.E.W.B.A. Pennant Chairman
  • S.E.W.B.A. Past Presidents Assoc. Inaugural President
  • Millicent Women’s Bowling Club President

Bowling achievements.

  • Millicent Championships
    • Singles: 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2005, 2006,2009
    • Pairs: 1991, 1993, 1994, 2002, 2006, 2008
    • Triples: 1985, 1995, 2001
    • Fours: 1985, 1986, 1995, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2009
  • S.E.W.B.A. Champion of Champions
    • Singles: 1998
    • Pairs: 1993
    • Triples: 1985

This slideshow requires JavaScript.